2001-2002 Awards

John Gassner Playwriting AwardSuzan-Lori Parks Topdog/Underdog
Rebecca Gilman The Glory of Living
Richard Greenberg The Dazzle
Naomi Iizuka 36 Views
Outstanding Actor in a MusicalJohn Lithgow Sweet Smell of Success
John Cullum Urinetown
Brian d’Arcy James Sweet Smell of Success
Hunter Foster Urinetown
Outstanding Actor in a PlayAlan Bates Fortune’s Fool
Ian McKellen Dance of Death
Liam Neeson The Crucible
Bill Pullman The Goat
Outstanding Actress in a MusicalSutton Foster Thoroughly Modern Millie
Josefina Gabrielle Oklahoma!
Kerry O’Malley Into the Woods
Louise Pitre Mamma Mia!
Outstanding Actress in a PlayMercedes Ruehl The Goat
Kate Burton Hedda Gabler
Laura Linney The Crucible
Helen Mirren Dance of Death
Outstanding Broadway Musical Urinetown
The Dazzle
Mamma Mia!
Sweet Smell of Success
Thoroughly Modern Millie
Franz Kafka’s The Castle
The Matchmaker
Outstanding Broadway Play The Goat
Fortune’s Fool
Outstanding ChoreographySusan Stroman Oklahoma!
Rob Ashford Thoroughly Modern Millie
John Carrafa Urinetown
Christopher Wheeldon Sweet Smell of Success
Outstanding Costume DesignIsaac Mizrahi The Women
Santo Loquasto The Elephant Man
Martin Pakledinaz Thoroughly Modern Millie
Anthony Ward Oklahoma!
Outstanding Director of a MusicalJohn Rando Urinetown
James Lapine Into the Woods
Michael Mayer Thoroughly Modern Millie
Trevor Nunn Oklahoma!
Outstanding Director of a Play (The Lucille Lortel Award)Mary Zimmerman Metamorphoses
Jeremy Sams Noises Off
Scott Schwartz Franz Kafka’s The Castle
Daniel Sullivan Morning’s at Seven
George C. Wolfe Topdog/Underdog
Outstanding Featured Actor in a MusicalShuler Hensley Oklahoma!
Norbert Leo Butz Thou Shalt Not
Justin Bohon Oklahoma!
Marc Kudisch Thoroughly Modern Millie
Outstanding Featured Actor in a PlayFrank Langella Fortune’s Fool
Joseph McKenna The Golem
Stephen Tobolowsky Morning’s at Seven
David Warner Major Barbara
Outstanding Featured Actress – MusicalSpencer Kayden Urinetown
Laura Benanti Into the Woods
Angela Christian Thoroughly Modern Millie
Andrea Martin Oklahoma!
Outstanding Featured Actress in a PlayKatie Finneran Noises Off
Elizabeth Franz Morning’s at Seven
Julie Hagerty Morning’s at Seven
Dana Ivey Major Barbara
Outstanding Lighting DesignDavid Hersey Oklahoma!
Donald Holder Thoroughly Modern Millie
James F. Ingalls The Elephant Man
David Weiner 36 Views
Outstanding Off-Broadway Musical tick, tick…Boom!
The Last 5 Years
The Spitfire Grill
Summer of ’42
Outstanding Revival of a Musical Oklahoma!
Into the Woods
Outstanding Revival of a Play Morning’s at Seven
The Crucible
The Elephant Man
Noises Off
Outstanding Set DesignAnthony Ward Oklahoma!
John Lee Beatty Morning’s at Seven
Allen Moyer The Dazzle
Douglas Stein 36 Views
Outstanding Solo PerformanceElaine Stritch Elaine Stritch at Liberty
Kevin Bacon An Almost Holy Picture
John Leguizamo Sexaholix
Charles Nelson Reilly Save It for the Stage: The Life of Reilly
Special AwardsMos Deff, Jeffrey Wright Topdog/Underdog