1980-1981 Awards

Best ActorIan McKellen Amadeus
Best ActressSwoosie Kurtz The Fifth of July
Best Broadway Play Amadeus
Best ChoreographyMichael Smuin, Donald MacKayle, Henry LeTang Sophisticated Ladies
Best Off Broadway Play March of the Falsettos
Best Revival The Pirates of Penzance
Best Set DesignRobert Phillips
John Gassner Playwriting AwardTed Talley Coming Attractions
Lucille Lortel Award for New DirectorGeraldine Fitzgerald Long Day’s Journey Into Night / Mass Appeal
Most Impressive DebutElizabeth Taylor The Little Foxes
Outstanding DebutsBrian Backer The Floating Light Bulb
Daniel Gerroll Knuckle / The Fly Boys
Outstanding New PlayDario Fo We Won’t Pay! We Won’t Pay!
Special CitationsNational Critics Institute at the O’Neill Theatre Center