John Gassner Playwriting Award
Rebecca Gilman – The Glory of Living 
Richard Greenberg – The Dazzle 
Naomi Iizuka – 36 Views 
Suzan-Lori Parks – Topdog/Underdog 

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
John Cullum – Urinetown 
Brian d’Arcy James – Sweet Smell of Success 
Hunter Foster – Urinetown 
John Lithgow – Sweet Smell of Success 

Outstanding Actor in a Play
Alan Bates – Fortune’s Fool 
Ian McKellen – Dance of Death 
Liam Neeson – The Crucible 
Bill Pullman – The Goat 

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Sutton Foster – Thoroughly Modern Millie 
Josefina Gabrielle – Oklahoma! 
Kerry O’Malley – Into the Woods 
Louise Pitre – Mamma Mia! 

Outstanding Actress in a Play
Kate Burton – Hedda Gabler 
Laura Linney – The Crucible 
Helen Mirren – Dance of Death 
Mercedes Ruehl – The Goat 

Outstanding Broadway Musical
Mamma Mia! 
Sweet Smell of Success 
Thoroughly Modern Millie 
The Dazzle 
Franz Kafka’s The Castle 
The Matchmaker 

Outstanding Broadway Play
Fortune’s Fool 
The Goat 

Outstanding Choreography
Rob Ashford – Thoroughly Modern Millie 
John Carrafa – Urinetown 
Susan Stroman – Oklahoma! 
Christopher Wheeldon – Sweet Smell of Success 

Outstanding Costume Design
Santo Loquasto – The Elephant Man 
Isaac Mizrahi – The Women 
Martin Pakledinaz – Thoroughly Modern Millie 
Anthony Ward – Oklahoma! 

Outstanding Director of a Musical
James Lapine – Into the Woods 
Michael Mayer – Thoroughly Modern Millie 
Trevor Nunn – Oklahoma! 
John Rando – Urinetown 

Outstanding Director of a Play (The Lucille Lortel Award)
Jeremy Sams – Noises Off 
Scott Schwartz – Franz Kafka’s The Castle 
Daniel Sullivan – Morning’s at Seven 
George C. Wolfe – Topdog/Underdog 
Mary Zimmerman – Metamorphoses 

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Norbert Leo Butz – Thou Shalt Not 
Justin Bohon – Oklahoma! 
Shuler Hensley – Oklahoma! 
Marc Kudisch – Thoroughly Modern Millie 

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Frank Langella – Fortune’s Fool 
Joseph McKenna – The Golem 
Stephen Tobolowsky – Morning’s at Seven 
David Warner – Major Barbara 

Outstanding Featured Actress – Musical
Laura Benanti – Into the Woods 
Angela Christian – Thoroughly Modern Millie 
Spencer Kayden – Urinetown 
Andrea Martin – Oklahoma! 

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Katie Finneran – Noises Off 
Elizabeth Franz – Morning’s at Seven 
Julie Hagerty – Morning’s at Seven 
Dana Ivey – Major Barbara 

Outstanding Lighting Design
David Hersey – Oklahoma! 
Donald Holder – Thoroughly Modern Millie 
James F. Ingalls – The Elephant Man 
David Weiner – 36 Views 

Outstanding Off-Broadway Musical
The Last 5 Years 
The Spitfire Grill 
Summer of ’42 
tick, tick…Boom! 

Outstanding Revival of a Musical 
Into the Woods 

Outstanding Revival of a Play
The Crucible 
The Elephant Man 
Morning’s at Seven 
Noises Off 

Outstanding Set Design
John Lee Beatty – Morning’s at Seven 
Allen Moyer – The Dazzle 
Douglas Stein – 36 Views 
Anthony Ward – Oklahoma! 

Outstanding Solo Performance
Kevin Bacon – An Almost Holy Picture 
John Leguizamo – Sexaholix 
Charles Nelson Reilly – Save It for the Stage: The Life of Reilly 
Elaine Stritch – Elaine Stritch at Liberty 

Special Awards
Mos Deff, Jeffrey Wright – Topdog/Underdog