Best Actor – Musical
Nathan Lane – Guys and Dolls 
Keith Carradine – The Will Rogers Follies 
Harry Groener – Crazy for You 
Spiro Malas – The Most Happy Fella 

Best Actor – Play
Judd Hirsch – Conversations with My Father 
Alan Alda – Jake’s Women 
Brian Bedford – Two Shakespearean Actors 
Roscoe Lee Browne – Two Trains Running 

Best Actress – Musical
Faith Prince – Guys and Dolls / Nick & Nora 
Sophie Hayden – The Most Happy Fella 
Liz Larsen – The Most Happy Fella 
Donna Murphy – Song of Singapore 

Best Actress – Play
Laura Esterman – Marvin’s Room 
Jane Alexander – The Visit 
Glenn Close – Death and the Maiden 
Pauline Flanagan – Grandchild of Kings 
Jessica Lange – A Streetcar Named Desire 

Best Broadway Musical
Crazy for You 
Five Guys Named Moe 
The High Rollers 
The Will Rogers Follies 

Best Broadway Play
Dancing at Lughnasa 
Conversations with My Father 
Two Shakespearean Actors 
Two Trains Running 

Best Choreography
Susan Stroman – Crazy for You 
Christopher Chadman – Guys and Dolls 
Lisa Gennaro – The Most Fella 
Tommy Tune – The Will Rogers Follies 

Best Comedy
Catskills on Broadway 
Beau Jest 
Breaking Legs 
Julie Halston’s Lifetime of Comedy 

Best Debut Performance
Laurence Fishburne – Two Trains Running 
Cynthia Martells – Two Trains Running 
Griffin Dunne – Search and Destroy 
Tom Hewitt – Beau Jest 
Joe Mantello – The Baltimore Waltz 
Cathy Foy – Song of Singapore 
Sue Giosa – Breaking Legs 
Amy Madigan – A Streetcar Named Desire 

Best Director (The Lucille Lortel Award)
Patrick Mason – Dancing at Lughnasa 
David Petrarea – Marvin’s Room 
Harold Prince – Grandchild of Kings 
Lloyd Richards – Two Trains Running 
Daniel Sullivan – Conversations with My Father 

Best Off Broadway Book, Music and Lyrics
Song of Singapore 
Return to the Forbidden Planet 

Best Off Broadway Musical
Song of Singapore 
Return to the Forbidden Planet 

Best Off Broadway Play
Marvin’s Room 
Grandchild of Kings 
Lips Together, Teeth Apart 
Sight Unseen 

Best Revival – Musical
Guys and Dolls 
Man of La Mancha 
The Most Happy Fella 

Best Revival – Play
The Visit 
Boesman and Lena 
The Crucible 
A Streetcar Named Desire 

Best Set, Costume and Lighting Design
Crazy for You Robin Wagner (Set), William Ivey Long (Costume), Paul Gallo (Lighting)
Dancing at Lughnasa Joe Vanck (Set), Joe Vanck (Costume), Trevor Dawson (Lighting)
Four Baboons Adoring the Sun Tony Walton (Set), Willa Kim (Costume), Richard Pilbrow (Lighting)
Song of Singapore John Lee Beatty (Set), Frank Krenz (Costume), Peter Kaczorowski (Lighting)

John Gassner Playwriting Award
Scott McPherson – Marvin’s Room 
Lynda Barry – The Good Times Are Killing Me 
Endesha Ida Mae Holland – From the Mississippi Delta 
Donald Margulies – Sight Unseen 

Special Awards
Ellen Stewart La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club
Tony Randall For the creation of the National Actors Theatre