Best Actor
Ian McKellen – Amadeus 

Best Actress 
Swoosie Kurtz – The Fifth of July 

Best Broadway Play

Best Choreography
Michael Smuin, Donald MacKayle, Henry LeTang – Sophisticated Ladies 

Best Off Broadway Play
March of the Falsettos 

Best Revival
The Pirates of Penzance 

Best Set Design
Robert Phillips 

John Gassner Playwriting Award
Ted Talley – Coming Attractions 

Lucille Lortel Award for New Director
Geraldine Fitzgerald – Long Day’s Journey Into Night / Mass Appeal 

Most Impressive Debut
Elizabeth Taylor – The Little Foxes 

Outstanding Debuts
Brian Backer – The Floating Light Bulb 
Daniel Gerroll – Knuckle / The Fly Boys 

Outstanding New Play
Dario Fo – We Won’t Pay! We Won’t Pay! 

Special Citations
National Critics Institute at the O’Neill Theatre Center